Highs and Lows of March

Posted: April 3, 2011 in Poker

So I’m only supposed to make Blog posts when I do good in poker, right?  Well, at least i’d like to only do that.  Unfortunately, I can’t do that now because March was a little rough to say the least.  I know it’s terribly brutal and corny to use this phrase (and anyone can feel free to berate me for doing so), but March for me came in like a lion and out like a lamb.  I’m honestly on one of the worst 2 week swings that I’ve ever been on right now.  I started out March up over 10 buy ins and ended down about 2 overall.  See below:

The good news is that my stats are improving with coaching right now as I’m running 15/11/3.1, which is much much better.  Also, the better news (err maybe not better news) is that during March, I managed to run at a horrific EV$ Adjusted rate of $2278.14 while losing $282.40 total!!!!  For those that don’t understand this, the EV$ Adjusted stat means that this is the dollar amount that I should have won based on my equity in All-In pots with 1 or 2, or all 5 cards to come.  Since I lost about $282 this month, add that amount to the $2278, and I ran about $2500 under what was expected!!!  Absolutely brutal. 

Anyways, I could share some bad beats here (including a 1 outer!), but I will resist the urge to complain!  In all reality, I’m happy with my play in March, and I’m looking forward to running good for a change!  The key right now is to not tilt and just understand that variance is a big part of the game, and I will overcome variance with one thing and one thing only – more volume.

Leave a comment